Curriculum

Welcome toEducational Services!

Ƶ's curriculum and instructionis guided by the district’s mission and strategic plan, the findings and recommendations of the Phi Delta Kappa Curriculum Management Audit, Ƶ's Board of Education policy and rules, and the Nebraska Department of Education Rule Tenrequirements.

Ƶ provides a rigorous curriculum that promotes an Advanced Placement ® culture. The curriculum is aligned with and surpasses the requirements of state standards and indicators. The Ƶ Education Program, commonly called the MEP,consists of content curriculum, appropriate instructional strategies, and valid assessment methodologies. The MEP also outlines the development phases and timeline for curriculum development. The Ƶ Instructional Model, commonly called the MIM,promotes instructional best practices that are research-based and data-driven. The offices of elementary education and secondary education oversee the formative and summative curriculum-based classroom assessmentsand diagnostic assessments. These assessments follow thedistrict’s Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (commonly called MTSS).

You may read more about the and our by clickingon each title.

If you are interested in reviewing our Ƶ curriculum, please follow the link on the left side of this page titled Ƶ Curriculum Frameworks.

Associate Superintendent of Educational Services
402.715.8301 |
Ƶ Us

Kelly Gallegos
Secretary to the Associate Superintendent of Educational Services
402.715.8301
kagallegos@mpsomaha.org

Early Childhood Curriculum

Andy DeFreece
Director of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
402.715.8336
adefreec@mpsomaha.org

Mendy Dickey
Secretary for Title I/Preschool
402.715.8339
mjdickey@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Amanda Hunt
Coordinator of Early Childhood
402.715.8307
alhunt@mpsomaha.org

Jean Savage
Secretary for Early Childhood and Elementary Special Education
402.715.8302
jasavage@mpsomaha.org

Cheris Kite
Facilitator for Early Childhood and K-5 Literacy Intervention
402.715.1431
cakite@mpsomaha.org

ElementaryEducation

Andy DeFreece
Director of Early Childhood & Elementary Education
402.715.8314
adefreec@mpsomaha.org

Kim Pirrone
Secretary for Elementary Education
402.715.8314
kjpirron@mpsomaha.org

Cheris Kite
Early Childhood & K-5 Literacy Intervention Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
cakite@mpsomaha.org

Ellen Kramer
K-5 Science/Social Studies/Health Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
eykramer@mpsomaha.org

Matthew Scott
K-5 Mathematics & Intervention Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
mjscott1@mpsomaha.org

Jody Sempek
K-5 Language Arts Curriculum & Instruction Facilitator
jlsempek@mpsomaha.org

Secondary Education

Dr. Anthony Weers
Director of Secondary Education
402.715.8304
ajweers@mpsomaha.org

Teresa McAndrew
Secretary to Director of Secondary Education
402.715.8484
tlmcandrew@mpsomaha.org

Katie Dittman
Secretary to Secondary Education & Educational Services
402.715.8253
kjdittman@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Melanie Olson
Coordinator of Secondary Programs
402.715.8577
mlolson@mpsomaha.org

Nicole Chapman
K-12Facilitator for Music
402.715.8756
nachapman@mpsomaha.org

Shannon Cooley Lovett
Curriculum Facilitator for K-12 Art,K-12 Counseling, K-12 Physical Education
402.715.6273
smcooley@mpsomaha.org

Jan Dahlgaard
Curriculum Facilitator for Secondary Language Arts
402.715.8480
jdahlgaa@mpsomaha.org

Monica Hutfles
K-12 HAL Program Facilitator, Odysseyware
402.715.8414
mahutfles@mpsomaha.org

Diane Reiners
Curriculum Facilitator for Business, FCS, 6-12 Health, &6-12 InformationTechnology
402.715.8563
dreiners@mpsomaha.org

Shelley Schmitz
K-12 Program Facilitator for MTSS
402.715.8813
slschmitz@mpsomaha.org

Nichole Schwab
Curriculum Facilitator for 6-12 Social Studies
402.715.8413
neschwab@mpsomaha.org

Tami Whitted
Curriculum Facilitator for Secondary Mathematics, Intervention, &Skilled and Technical Sciences
402.715.1679
tjwhitted@mpsomaha.org

Special Programs

Dr. Kara Hutton
Coordinator of Special Programs
402.715.8708
khutton@mpsomaha.org

English Learners

Dr. Kara Hutton
Coordinator of Special Programs
402.715.8708
khutton@mpsomaha.org

Pam Erixon
District EL Support Specialist
402.715.8764
perixon@mpsomaha.org

Bastian Derichs
Bilingual Liaison
402.715.6244
bderichs@mpsomaha.org


Rana Corey
Bilingual Liaison
402.578.7583
rrcorey@mpsomaha.org

High Ability Learner

Monica Hutfles
K-12 HAL Program Facilitator
402.715.8414
mahutfles@mpsomaha.org

Special Education

Dr. Terry Houlton
Director of Special Education
402.715.8219
thoulton@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Carrie Novotny-Buss
Coordinator - Elementary Special Education
Lead Administrator of MTSS (Multi-Tiered System of Supports)
402.715.8308
cnovotny@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Amanda Hunt
Coordinator of Early Childhood
402.715.8307
alhunt@mpsomaha.org

Dr. Ted Esser
Coordinator - Secondary Special Education
402.715.8224
tesser@mpsomaha.org

Hayley Mentzer
Coordinator - Young Adult Program
402.715.6330
hdmentzer@mpsomaha.org

Jean Savage
Secretary for Early Childhood & Elementary Special Education
402.715.8302
jasavage@mpsomaha.org

Courtney Heser
Secretary to the Director of Special Education, Secondary Special Education,the Psychologists& Special Education Transportation
402.715.8583
clheser@mpsomaha.org

Beth Pfeiffer
Secretary to the Young Adult Program &Special Education Records
402.715.8416
bapfeiffer@mpsomaha.org

Kristen McKenney
Facilitator - Elementary Special Education
402.715.8568
klmckenney@mpsomaha.org

Anne Keith
Facilitator - Elementary Special Education
402.715.8286
ackeith@mpsomaha.org

Kaye Schweigert
Facilitator - Middle School Special Education
402.715.8558
kmschweig@mpsomah.org

Wendy Wight
Facilitator - High School Special Education
402.715.8763
wawight@mpsomaha.org

Tricia Gillett
Department Chair - Birth-21 Speech/Language
402.715.8585
tlgillett@mpsomaha.org

Kelli Krause
Facilitator - B-21 Autism
402.715.8600
kkkrause@mpsomaha.org

Shelley Schmitz
Facilitator- K-12 MTSS (Multi-Tiered System of Supports)
402.715.8813
slschmitz@mpsomaha.org

Early College

Dr. Melanie Olson
Coordinator of Secondary Programs
402.715.8577
mlolson@mpsomaha.org

Angela Barona, Metro Enrollment Navigator
402-715-8299
afsbarona@mpsomaha.org

Amy Sweets, Early College Coordinator
402-715-8299
alsweets@mpsomaha.org

0